Registration Deadline January 31 - Regional Studies Association - Annual International Conference 2011

Special Post: Tom Christoffel - U.S. Country Representative, Regional Studies Association

Annual International Conference 2011

Regional development and policy – challenges, choices and recipients

Sunday 17th – Wednesday 20th April 2011: University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK


For more information please go to:

http://www.regional-studies-assoc.ac.uk/events/2011/april-newcastle/register.pdf

Only a few days remains to register and submit your abstract and to gain the reduced membership registration fees

Abstract submission deadline – 31st January 2011

This conference will take place at the University of Newcastle and the Civic Centre over four days in April 2011 and will include daily plenary, workshop

and special roundtable sessions.

We welcome papers from all – academics, students and those working in policy and practice. The event is inclusive and offers networking

opportunities for all in our field. The organisers welcome proposals for special sessions, themed workshops and innovative forms of networking and collaboration. If you would like to organise or offer a session to the conference please contact Lisa Bibby-Larsen at

events@rsa-ls.ac.uk and we will assist you.

The challenges for regional development are intensifying. Long-term factors shaping the prospects for cities and regions include the effects of climate

change and new demands on energy, water and food systems. Cities also face significant demographic shifts. Rapid technological changes – captured

in the notion of an emerging Knowledge Economy – will also affect cities and regions. Moreover, we are witnessing significant changes in international

political economy – encapsulated by the term globalisation – but increasingly understood as incorporating the rise of new economic powers, such as the

BRICs (Brazil, Russia, India and, above all, China). The immediate context for thinking about these questions in many parts of the world is the aftermath of a severe economic crisis and a new politics of austerity.

Local, regional, national and international actors continue to search for new policy solutions at a time when traditional forms of governance are being

tested and new forms of regional politics are emerging. In many parts of the world regional disparities are growing as more economic activity becomes

concentrated in global city regions, posing questions about the future of cities and regions beyond the metropolis. In these austere times, some voices

question the need for regional policy itself and public policy debates increasingly focus on these dilemmas.

Gateway themes:

A Climate change, resource pressures, environment and sustainable regions

Gerd Lintz (g.lintz@ioer.de), Peter Wirth (p.wirth@ioer.de) and Andrew Beer (andrew.beer@flinders.edu.au)

B Labour markets, migration and regional development

Alessandra Faggian (A.Faggian@soton.ac.uk), Mark Partridge (partridge.27@osu.edu) and Anne Green (a.e.green@warwick.ac.uk)

C Inequality, diversity and regional development

Irene Hardill (Irene.hardill@northumbria.ac.uk), Solange Villette (solange.villette@orange.fr) and Lionel Guillemot (l.guillemot@univ-angers.fr)

D1 Rurality/peripherality and regional development

Peter de Souza (peter.souza@hihm.no) and Anne Lorentzen (al@plan.aau.dk)

D2 The social and economic role of rural businesses (themed workshop strand)

Session to be co-ordinated by Gary Bosworth, (gbosworth@lincoln.ac.uk), Bob Newbery, (Robert.Newbery@newcastle.ac.uk) and Jane Atterton, (jane.atterton@ncl.ac.uk)

D3 Patterns of rural change and rural cohesion policy (ESPON) (themed workshop strand)

Session to be co-ordinated by Andrew Copus (andrew.copus@nordregio.se)

E Spatial econometrics

Vasillis Monastiriotis (v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk) and Bernard Fingleton (bf100@cam.ac.uk)

F Borders and border regions

Gianluca Spinaci (Gianluca.Spinaci@cor.europa.eu) and Nicola Bellini (nbellini@sssup.it)

G1 Competitiveness, competition and cooperation

Gillian Bristow (BristowG1@cardiff.ac.uk)

G2 The impact of global economic crisis on capital cities (themed workshop strand)

Session to be co-ordinated by Olga Mrinska (omrinska@gmail.com)

H New approaches to regional development policy

Arnoud Lagendijk (a.lagendijk@ru.nl) and Pedro Marques (p.m.marques@newcastle.ac.uk)

I Social justice and regional development

Gordon Dabinett (g.e.dabinett@sheffield.ac.uk) and Thilo Lang (t_lang@ifl-leipzig.de)

J1 The politics and governance of regional and territorial development

Tassilo Herrschel (t.a.herrschel@westminster.ac.uk)

J2 Shrinking cities: The governance of shrinkage within a European context (invitation only)

Session to be co-ordinated by Vlad Mykhnenko (Vlad.Mykhnenko@nottingham.ac.uk)

K Regional identity and regionalism

Pavel Chromy (chromy@natur.cuni.cz)

L Financing the regions – current and future challenges

Martin Sokol (m.sokol@qmul.ac.uk), Zoltan Gal (galz@rkk.hu) and Ewald Engelen (E.R.Engelen@uva.nl)

M1 Regional development and development management in a global context

Ulrich Graute (graute@un.org) and Mikhail Dimitriev (M.Dmitriev@csr.ru)

M2 RDAs: The next generation? Networking, knowledge and regional policies (invitation only)

Session to be co-ordinated by Henrik Halkier (Halkier@cgs.aau.dk)

N Phoenix industries and innovation

Abdel-Illah Hamdouch (Abdel.Hamdouch@univ-lille1.fr), Stuart Dawley (s.j.dawley@ncl.ac.uk)

O1 Enterprise, entrepreneurship and learning in resilient regions

Mark Hart (mark.hart@aston.ac.uk), Roel Rutten (R.P.J.H.Rutten@uvt.nl), Helena Lenihan (helena.lenihan@ul.ie)

O2 Social Dynamics of Innovation Networks (SDIN) (invitation only)

Session to be co-ordinated by Roel Rutten (R.P.J.H.Rutten@uvt.nl)

P1 Creative Industries and regional development

Caroline Chapain (c.a.chapain@bham.ac.uk, Roberta Comunian (r.comunian@soton.ac.uk), Nick Clifton (nclifton@uwic.ac.uk)

P2 Innovation and regional development (invitation only session)

Session to be co-ordinated by Enea Gkikas (e.gkikas@wales.ac.uk)

Q1 Cultural and experiential economies

Lisa de Propris (l.de_propris@bham.ac.uk), Anne Lorentzen (al@plan.aau.dk), Olivier Crevoisier (Olivier.crevoisier@unine.ch)

Q2 Regional development and tourism (themed workshop strand)

Flora Diaz-Perez (fdiazp@ull.es)

R Communities, civil society and the role of education and the quadruple helix of regional development

Oto Potluka (potluka@vse.cz) and Peter McGregor (p.mcgregor@strath.ac.uk)

S1 EU Policy and practice

John Bachtler (john.bachtler@strath.ac.uk) and Philip McCann (P.McCann@rug.nl)

S2 Assessing EU cohesion policy’s impacts and effectiveness in Central and Easter European countries (invitation only)

Session to be co-ordinated by Marcin Dabrowski (Marcin.Dabrowski@oeaw.ac.at)

T Territorial cooperation

Kai Boehme (kai.boehme@spatialforesight.eu) and Thiemo Eser (Thiemo.Eser@mat.etat.lu)

U Spatial planning

Krisztina VarrĂ³ (k.varro@fm.ru.nl) and Alasdair Rae (a.j.rae@sheffield.ac.uk)

V Place leadership

Markku Sotarauta (Markku.sotarauta@uta.fi) and John Gibney (J.Gibney@bham.ac.uk)

W1 RDAs: The next generation? Networking, Knowledge and Regional Policies (invitation only)

Session to be co-ordinated by Henrik Halkier (Halkier@cgs.aau.dk)

W2 Eurodite/Knowledge dynamics (themed workshop strand)

Session to be co-ordinated by Hugues Jeannerat (Hugues.jeannerat@unine.ch)

W3 The great debate: Post regionalism – the challenge facing the North East (themed workshop strand)

Session to be organised by Irene Hardill (Irene.hardill@northumbria.ac.uk)

W4 The changing dynamics of leadership and partnership across European regions (meeting session)

Session to be co-ordinated by Joyce Liddle (joyce.liddle@ntu.ac.uk)

Plenary speakers include:

Plenary 1: Beyond the capitals: the future of second tier cities and the regions

  • Ivan Turok
  • Andrew Lewis
  • OECD speaker tbc

Plenary 2: Spatially blind v spatially targeted policy for regional development

  • Johannes Hahn
  • Fabrizio Barca
  • Philip McCann
  • Jose Enrique Garcilazo

Plenary 3: Wellbeing and Regional Development

  • Andres Rodriguez-Pose
  • Susan Christopherson tbc
  • Teresa Rees

For more information please go to:

http://www.regional-studies-assoc.ac.uk/events/2011/april-newcastle/register.pdf






No comments:

Post a Comment